Updates and Agenda This Week

Posted on Updated on

Image

Happy/Merry New Year, Christmas, Kwanza, Hanukkah, 明けましておめでとうございます. Though my blog has just started a few months ago it’s already been read in over 30 countries, I would like to thank everyone for reading and warm greetings (talking to you Italy!).

~ Most Important Call of My Life ~

I’ve had a nice break, I hope you have too. So today at work I missed a phone call while sitting at my desk, I let it ring like I always do when I don’t recognize the phone number. Being curious I checked the area code online and found out it was from Boston, the city with my top selection for medical school; I interviewed there in early October. I checked for the flickering light to indicate a voice mail. No voice mail. How does it feel to miss one of the most important phone calls of your life? Terrible. So, I tried calling back the number immediately only to find that it was a general number, so I asked to be transferred to admissions. I rambled my story off to a polite staff member who listened carefully to my plea, and even tried to investigate who might of called me, but to no avail. How does it feel to call your top choice medical school and waste their time, and still not know why they called? Terrible cubed. Then, a beacon of hope came, I had forgotten my cell phone always get’s dodgy reception in my office — I did in fact have a cell phone voice mail. The fruits of my labor? Finding out I got accepted into my dream school by my interviewer who welcomed me to their medical program. How does that feel? Mind blown. I applied for my ‘reach’ school and got in, I’m very pleased. So this brings my interview to acceptance ratio to 100% at 5 for 5 =), all it takes is one and I got my imaginary choice.

Along with that comes canceling pending interviews (I’m broke, so it works out), my criminal background check (should be fine, unless I sleep walk and rob banks), and continue working on my FAFSA. Boston will send me a package this week detailing other things I need to do like immunizations etc.

~ Blog plans this weeks ~

Finish part two of the Personal Statement entry, it’s still in the draft stages (literally on a sheet of paper) and some space filling into my WordPress draft box. I’ll try to have it out this weekend for people that enjoyed part I — thanks for the warm comments!

Write some thing or other about Organic Chemistry. The guides so far have caught on a little, so I’m considering doing a Q & A entry to address the questions people have asked me (after rendering them anonymous) on here, Twitter, or SDN about the course. If my blog ever does get pelted more with Organic Chemistry I’ll try to do a better job about making new categories as well.

So, look out for one to two entries this week.

~ Other Stuff Keeping Me Busy ~

Well, besides rolling around on the floor during vacation, recently I was interviewed for http://www.accepted.com where I did a question answer session about my experience applying to medical school. I’ll post the link whenever (if ever) that gets posted by them. I was also asked to contribute an article for on ethics for another site. In the fall I will be interviewed for a podcast, I’ll keep you all posted on my internet escapades as updates come.

I’ll do my best to not celebrate so hard that I lose track of my agenda =D

2 thoughts on “Updates and Agenda This Week

    serend1p1ty said:
    January 28, 2014 at 5:32 am

    Congratulations on getting into your top choice! Your blog is extremely helpful and I will definitely use it as a resource as I take the path towards medical school. Kudos on your achievements and looking forward to your posts as a medical student [:

    Oh! And great interview with accepted.com!

      masterofsleep said:
      January 28, 2014 at 5:35 am

      Thank you very much! I really appreciate you taking the time to read it. I look forward to posting more about medical school once it starts.

Leave a Reply

