What’s on My Phone

Posted on Updated on

This post is in reference to this question:

I really have no idea what the best medical student oriented applications are, as I don’t go out and really compare and contrast medical phone applications (yet); so I won’t pretend to have authority on the matter. Also, I imagine my opinions will change once I can test the app year by year as I progress in my career. Incidentally, when kids ask to play with my phone, I gladly invite them, because the outcome is always the same. They hand the phone back to me within a minute or two, totally disappointed in how boring of a person I am. So, with my self depreciation aside, my favorite applications for my phone are:

Touch Surgery

wpid-20140119_134235.jpg

What happens when you put top notch graphic designers, programmers, and doctors together? Touch Surgery. The application takes you through, step by step, to learn a number of surgical procedures. You can both watch the tutorial or test yourself. If you decide to test yourself you’ll be scored, it’s actually a pretty strict judge — so it’s pretty fun. In the future it’d be awesome if they got together to work with Google Glass like products. Also, once they pull in more support I’m sure they’ll be a lot more cases — it would also be awesome if they were able to expand into non-surgical procedures as well. But, the application does exactly what it says, it’s designed by surgeons for surgery. I can”t dare complain about this application, and somehow it’s free.

 Prognosis Diagnosis

wpid-20140104_093404.jpg

The application is one of my best go to apps when bored. The application plays out like this 1) you pick a patient (case), 2) you see brief history/background 3) you then see the patient and see the observation notes, you then chose to 4) order OR not order tests and finally you 5) prescribe medicine/treatment, then finally 6) finish and receive a grade and feed back (when you do bad you’re doctor avatar is sobbing for example). By the way, it’s way more fun and challenging if you try to predict which tests/diagnostics would appear on the screen at part 4. It’s also a great mental exercise to only give what is needed at the step 5 prescribing/treatment phase. And, if you’re a camper try to diagnosis the problem specifically before finishing the case completely. If you do all of this, it’s a pretty fun mental game, It’s way better than just trial and error. After you’re done, you can then go into the case write up, sometimes it was an actual case posted by a physician (and you learn the real outcome of that patient), other times it was just a hypothetical case constructed by physicians. There’s also a discussion button, so you can ask other doctors/med students questions about the case — sometimes you’ll even see counter arguments.

One of the coolest things about this app is that also a lot of spin offs: Rheumatology (hard, I’ve yet to manage a case perfectly), Emergency, Diabetes, Cardiology, Respiratory.

Another great FREE app.

Speed Anatomy

wpid-screenshot_2013-08-20-14-37-27.png

It’s just basic gross anatomy, so it won’t go into the detail you need for medical school. But, it’s a fun way to pass time. Also, since it gets progressively harder, you can actually let your non medically addicted friends play. You play against the timer, using your finger to “pin” the body part the application mentions. A fun free game.

OMNIO (formally SkyScape )

wpid-screenshot_2014-06-04-19-00-53.png

It has a tone of references, calculators, drug information. There’s a feed function, there you can see important things like their updates, medical news, and even prominent FDA drug recalls. I assume this is an application that I’ll probably use the most later on. Right now, I get the most use out of the feeds. There are things you can choose to buy in this application, but the lion share of things are free.

– Snapchat (search your authorized app store)

wpid-snapchat-20140418074459.jpg
The suspicious Easter Bunny

What? Yes, Snapchat. It’s a lot more useful then sending pictures of raunchy photos. It’s a rather “light weight” photo application, and since you can annotate on the picture rather quickly it’s easy to ask/communicate things that would be harder otherwise. For example, I’ve had people send me anything from videos of them chasing ducks (no ducks were harmed) to questions about organic chemistry. In the future, it’ll probably be helpful for just saving the photos and taking notes on them. The key here is don’t abuse Snapchat, or it’ll come back to haunt you. I personally found that Easter bunny in the photo particularly troubling, do you guys have any idea what the Easter bunny does the rest of the 364 days of the year? The answer would terrify you, just go search on Youtube yourself. Free.

Superflashcard

wpid-screenshot_2014-06-04-19-38-05.png

There’s a lot of flashcard apps out there, a lot of them are good and maybe better than this one. This just happens to be the one I prefer, I used Anki cards before as well, but I’ve stuck with these. You can upload your own cards, and import others.  Someone already uploaded a USLME Step 1 and 2 deck, so you can just add to those later. You can also play with friends who have the same app, study from it, or just test yourself. Again, free.

5 thoughts on “What’s on My Phone

    Ed said:
    June 4, 2014 at 10:56 pm

    Figure 1 is also a great app!

      doctororbust responded:
      June 4, 2014 at 10:57 pm

      It’s one of my favorite apps.

    doctorloony said:
    June 11, 2014 at 3:10 pm

    Hey I was just wondering if you could do a post like this but for youtubers? Like youtubers who are medical students or videos which help medical students? I am just curious 🙂

      doctororbust responded:
      June 11, 2014 at 3:28 pm

      Hmm, I never considered youtube. I’ll give it some thought of how to pull that off

Leave a Reply

