“Are You Ready for Medical School?” — Nope, well, kinda.

Posted on Updated on

Time is winding down, and I’m getting ready to leave California for Boston. Recently, I’ve been fielding the question of “If I’m ready to leave?”, and this question is usually mated with, “Are you ready to start medical school?”. To answer both questions succinctly, “no, with qualifications”.

Am I ready for medical school?

I actually have no idea (haha). I assume medical school will be challenging, it’s infamous for it. Β And to be honest, I really have no idea if I’m ready for the material or the pace. However, medical school is tough for everyone, so I’m not afraid of the imminent doom — I look forward to feeling stupid because it means there’s still room for me to grow. Also, I plan to follow the advice of whatever I hear from my upper classmates during orientation; I like to learn from others’ mistakes. Anyways, here’s an idea of what my first two weeks will look like:

It's getting real.
ORT – Orientation, H – Histology, HD – Histology Discussion, HBM – Human Behavior in Medicine, Biochemistry and Cell Biology, Lib – Lab, A – Anatomy, and ICM – introduction to Clinical Medicine

Schedule Highlights:

– White coat ceremony is on August 4th. I’ll only be in Boston a few days before school starts, so it should be “fun”. However, as long as I have a soft place to sleep and a pillow I’ll survive for a few weeks.

– Then orientation, including a tour of Boston during the first week. I will try to use this time to meet with new classmates, and socialize while we still can. I think a big part of this will be developing relationships. I actually have a tendency to study by myself, it’s a bad habit. I think I do better with others, especially when I both self-study (I want to be useful to those I study with) and study with others to get more out of the experience.

– Human anatomy! The rite of passage for all medical students. I’ve seen cadavers before, but first time seeing them finely dismembered, faces peeled back, brains removed, lungs and innards tied into baggies, was during my medical school interview trail. Though this experience will help me brace for anatomy, I’m 100% me doing the dissections with my group will be another mental ball game.

– During week three I have my first test. I should mention, there’s a major exam about a month after school starts. I’ll see how I feel during that pace, either way I’ll need to figure out a way to handle it. My plan is just to start studying from day one.

– Overall, things get real very fast. =)

Am I ready to leave?

I haven’t actually packed anything, my flight is on July 30th, I don’t really intend to bring all that much with me. Like many Californians, within the state I’ve relocated many times (5x before college, 4x, +1 homeless spell in college). As a consequence, I’ve learned to live an ascetic lifestyle, I tend to forgo being to overly attached to items. So, it’s really just a matter of physically hauling myself to Boston, and saying all the goodbyes that is more work.

However, I am ready to leave in the sense that I’m ready to start the next phase of my life. It’s hard to believe that my biggest problems now is making sure I rock the first two years so reviewing for boards won’t be as brutal — wish me luck on that!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on ““Are You Ready for Medical School?” — Nope, well, kinda.

    premedmachine said:
    June 26, 2014 at 8:42 pm

    Best of luck!

      doctororbust responded:
      June 26, 2014 at 9:30 pm

      Thank you very much!

        premedmachine said:
        June 26, 2014 at 9:34 pm

        I am glad I found your blog. It’s detailed and informative. I am reading your blog and older posts for the past two hours. I am a non-traditional premed student going to be a doctor-that’s my dream for as long as I can remember. I wish you best of luck and thank you for writing this wonderful blog, it’s very helpful!

        doctororbust responded:
        June 26, 2014 at 10:29 pm

        I really appreciate you taking the time to read my blog and write such a kind message. To a fellow nontraditional I welcome you πŸ™‚

        doctororbust responded:
        June 26, 2014 at 10:41 pm

        I’m happy to hear you’re finding a good use of my blog. When I was applying I was disappointed with the amount of information, so I’m happy this is useful for you!

        Thanks for leaving me a message, it helps a lot!

        BTW non-traditionals have the most fun =)

        premedmachine said:
        June 26, 2014 at 11:09 pm

        I will be completing my BSc with premed courses in two years starting this fall. Life is not easy. I have had a very rough journey to where I am right now (completed 27 credits in 3 years)-Have an F (in organic chemistry) and few W in my transcript already …critical family circumstances and responsibilities blocked my progress in school..but I am going to try again! I am considering mostly the American medical schools and after reading your blog, I need to do a lot of home work and research. I am glad I know all this ahead of time- thanks to your great blog. I don’t have Facebook or any other social media accounts. Now I am convinced that it was a good decision to create twitter account through which I found your blog. You mentioned Dr. Susan Miller website “mdadmit” and I found the “how to be a pre-med” book πŸ™‚ my next summer read!
        I want to say one thing “You will make a Great Doctor”! Thank you again for being nice & kind and putting all the information through your blog & spreading and sharing information regarding med-schools/pre-meds to help others. We don’t see people doing that anymore. Keep it up!

        doctororbust responded:
        June 27, 2014 at 7:51 am

        Thanks for sharing your story, I too faced a lot of hurdles. Years ago I would of laughed at you if you said after my past life I’d be a medical student. For grades, try taking things more slowly or make sure to have fluff mixed into hard classes. Also, admittedly it’s hard to find a good organic tutor, your school does provide tutoring for it for free (you’ve already paid).

        External issues (relationships with friends and family) can be difficult to both maintain and nurture whilst trying to master the premed period. If you’re the essential cog in their gears it may fatigue you. That’s how it works for me anyways. If it’s unavoidable consider going into your schools Counseling and Psychological service center to blow off steam/vent. Though, sometimes you need to focus on just yourself — you’ll be more helpful to everyone when you’re free to pursue your goals.

        One major reason why I decided to move away is that I need to focus.

        I’m happy you have some time to plan. Try downloading a friend’s premed phone app called Premed Tracker, it’s free, it’ll help as well. And Dr. Miller is excellent — she was one of the ones who encouraged me to just go for it.

        I had a goal for my blog of making the process less about insider’s information dependent. The hard part of applying to medschool shouldn’t be figuring out how to apply to medschool.

        Glad to have you join my blog readers and be able to interact with you.

Leave a Reply

