Med Blog Roll

Posted on Updated on

About the blog roll:

This will be a running list of blogs I actively read. Though not being on the list doesn’t mean I don’t suggest the blog, it’s just not brought up at the moment for a number of reasons (mostly likely time and forgetfulness). As time goes on, I will edit the list to add to it. But, for now, here are my common reads:

Physicians and aspiring Physicians

MD Admit – physician, MD attending. I met Dr. Miller online, I don’t quite remember how a little over a year ago sometime in early spring. I remember this because I was panicking about applying to medical school, most certainly like how some of you are/will be/already have. When I was applying, I was terrified. After finding out more about me, she then sent me an email (that I still have) egging me on and dropping tons of pointers that helped “de-mystify” some aspects of the application. Later on, I found out she was actually running a company for advising applicants in medical school by stumbling onto her book on Amazon. Why she took the time with me free of charge I’ll never know (go doctors!), but I hope all my viewers will check her blog out.  Her blog, book, and the MSAR and are an essential combination for any applicant.

HotarunoKoyapost graduate MD fulfilling residency requirements, *Japanese language only*. To the few readers in Japan, or those comfortable in Japanese, this is a perfect blog — if not one of the best no nonsense medical blogs out there.  The blog starts from this physicians orientation to medical school, continuing all the way onto their graduation. I set my blog up after being inspired from hers, it’s surprisingly concise and succinct yet accessible. I’ve never tried to use Google translate, but you’re free to give it a whirl if you want to see what the blog is about.

MD PhD to Bemedical student, MD/PhD candidate. Currently kicking butt and taking names as a dual degree student. This blogger also write for a number of well none medstudent outlets, so to say she’s productive would be an understatement. If you want to know what type of life an MD/PhD leads then this is your blog.

Dreamer Doc – medical student, MD candidate. This is one of the best composed and informative blogs out there. It overs the entirety of medical school, as the blogger is currently a senior doing clinical rotations. If you’re not subscribing to this blog then you’re really missing out potentially.

Aspiring Minority Doctor – medical student. This blogger dedicates their time to helping other premeds along the way. If you’re looking for a blog to inspire yourself, learning more about this blog and all the things they had to overcome is a great motivational point. This blogger knows what it takes to get into medical school, and is driven on their own accord.

Med School Queenmedical student, DO candidate. This blogger is probably the most popular social media medical student known to premeds, so she probably needs very little introduction. To help others she tends to bring a refreshing candor, a humanistic side to the journey to being a doctor.

5 Year Journeymedical student, MD candidate. This is one industrious and helpful blog, you’ll find tips for applying for medical school, webinar updates, and when she has time she even manages to critique primary and secondary applications free of charge. This blog is really dedicated to helping others through their journey.

White Coat DO – medical student, DO candidate. This account has great content and organization, so it’s a great resource for those interested in medical school and medicine. Here you can keep up to date with graduate medical education (if you don’t know what GME is don’t worry you will soon, like all of us) updates, other interesting write ups, and pertinent links.

The Health Scout – medical student, MD candidate. This blog is great because you may simultaneously learn something and laugh. The writer expresses themselves with both word and cartoon — it’s sort of like when the “funnies” were in the daily paper, albeit a medical orientated comic strip. She’ll soon be starting her 3rd year, I can only imagine what imagery she’ll later share with us as she becomes active in the hospital.

This Medical Life – medical student, MD candidate. Writing is a dying art of communication, no where is this more apparent then when we all sit down and take the verbal section of the MCAT for the first time. The blog covers a diverse amount of topics in a “writerly” way, from healthcare to life lessons.

The Crafty Premed – this is a great premed blog, especially for those in the mist of the prerequisite battle (or if you want a preview of what you have in store for you as a premed towards the end of your course work career). Becoming a doctor starts with being a premed.

PharmD Blog

MedEd101 (Medical Education 101) – when you’re a medical student and resident, if you’re fortunate, you may make rounds around the wards with PharmD students. As a future physician you’ll often (most of the time) encounter patients who are on a myriad of drugs.  PharmD students are masters at adverse reactions between medications, dosage strategies, and other things you’d learn if you dedicated your education to the pharmacology side of medicine. I can only hope the PharmD I get to learn interact with in the future is as helpful and knowledgeable as the owner of this blog.

Nurses and aspiring Nurses

Nurse with Glasses – mental health nurse. Blogs about mental health, the importance of family support for patients, and other issues we often don’t brush up on enough as we pile our noses into text books.

Pre Nursing Chick – RN student. If you want to read up on the struggles our friends in nursing have to endure here’s a good place to start. You can watch this account go from RN student to RN to the sky’s the limit. If you’re interested in nursing, or learning more about their coursework here’s a good place to hear one of their testimonies.

last updated 7/11/14

 

10 thoughts on “Med Blog Roll

    premedmachine said:
    July 4, 2014 at 8:13 pm

    Hi, great source ,great blogs! Thanks.

      doctororbust responded:
      July 5, 2014 at 11:27 am

      Happy reading, I’ll be updating this from time to time, though I’ll try to be consistent to make it less of a guessing game =)

        premedmachine said:
        July 5, 2014 at 11:29 am

        Yes that would be great, will help me greatly. I have found many many informative,important things thorough your postings and blogs and I feel more ready to consider American schools. I really appreciate your blog and articles. Many thanks.

        doctororbust responded:
        July 5, 2014 at 11:36 am

        If you’re competitive go for it! If you can graduate here your ability to match into residency is higher, but you’ll also have to find residencies that can sponsor your visa (should not need it). So, make sure you do some more research into how to stay competitive if you do matriculate here.

        I’m still reading up on the match process, so I’ll have more on that once I understand it more.

        Glad you’re going for the stethoscope. =)

        premedmachine said:
        July 5, 2014 at 11:59 am

        I will be waiting for more of your posts regarding “the match”. I am a Canadian citizen and yes you are right I need to look into student visa etc . I have not started my research on it yet!and for sure I’ll work harder, study smarter to reserve myself the best spot in medicine/residencies!
        Remember me in your prayers!

        doctororbust responded:
        July 5, 2014 at 12:19 pm

        The good news is that I’ve already sourced the article, the bad news is I now have to write it haha.

        Good luck on everything!

        The good thing is that it’s pretty straight forward, rock step 1 and stay involved. =)

        premedmachine said:
        July 5, 2014 at 12:20 pm

        Great! So let’s get started I am waiting to read it 👍

    Rishi said:
    July 5, 2014 at 4:20 pm

    Great list of sites!

      doctororbust responded:
      July 5, 2014 at 4:30 pm

      They’ll be sure to keep growing!

    D Ward said:
    July 7, 2014 at 10:30 pm

    Thanks for the mention! Such a great list and I look forward to checking everyone out 🙂

Leave a Reply

