Open Letter to My First Patient

Posted on Updated on

As I massaged the lotion on your skin, I glanced at your nicely kept clean long nails. You can learn a lot about people from their hands, they often reveal more than we ever let on. These hands that were once as smooth as mine, but have grown weathered and experienced with age. I can only wonder who else had the chance to hold your hand: your children, lover, and parents when you were but a child trepidatiously crossing the street. As I stroked your fingers and palms with moisturizer your long elegant cold fingers betray your secret, you were certainly an graceful woman. While holding your hand, I can only wonder what type of wonderful person you were while you were still alive, before you decided to donate your body to our course. Glancing at your face I can still see the pride and wit imprinted in your wrinkles, I’m certain if we had met before you’d have much to teach me and many ways to make me laugh. I will soon know you in a different way, that even those who knew you when your vessel was full would have known. I’m not sure why you’ve decided to donate your body so I can become a doctor, allowing for me to have this intimate experience with you, but I will never forget you because you are my first patient.

You must have been a wonderful person, and I’ll never be able to thank you for letting me get to know you. And although I’m not to sure about the idea of an after life, I can only hope that one day to get the chance to meet you because you’re the most beautiful person I’ve yet to meet.

MD candidate

3 thoughts on “Open Letter to My First Patient

    Simplexvita said:
    August 14, 2014 at 12:02 am

    Wow, this is lovely!

    themusingoflife said:
    August 14, 2014 at 2:51 pm

    Beautiful.

    doctororbust responded:
    August 15, 2014 at 8:45 pm

    Thanks for reading. Few things are as humbling as gross anatomy.

Leave a Reply

