PreMD Tracker Application — (Strong) Suggested Download

Posted on Updated on

gpa act unnamed

I’ve never been so furious about a phone application. Why? Because it didn’t come out when I was applying to medical school. When I was applying to medical school, I scoured the internet, data mined multiple AAMC pages and devoured books about admissions wherever I could find them. Well, the good news for you (if you’re a premed) is that you won’t have to go through so much trouble. Yes, you should still do your homework like checking up on AAMC updates, but you don’t have to feel lost in the nebulous world of medical school applications like all of us were before this application. So, what is this application I kept harping about? It’s called PreMD Tracker, and it’s available (exclusively, for now) on the Android Market. The hint of the function of the application is in the name alone, it allows you to make a self check list to monitor your progress in assembling your medical school application. In the application you can both record and find additional information pertaining to that subject (using links from the AAMC) on: 

  • GPA
  • Letters of Recommendation
  • MCAT Scores
  • BCPM grade point average calculator
  • Volunteering Experiences and Hour Records
  • Upload your CV

The application is massive, and has many menus with additional information. In fact, I honestly feel that you could literally leave my site and download it immediately and never have to read my blog again because there’s so much there — I’m okay with this, if you promise to apply to medical school while using this application. Anyways, I was so intrigued by this application and who’d go through all the trouble to make this application that I arranged a phone call with one of the creators. It turns out that the creators both were friends from undergrad at Johns Hopkins who later went onto successfully apply to medical school. Though, they like myself, found the admissions process to be rather daunting and unapproachable at first. After they had gained admittance into their respective institutions, they decided to share what they’ve learned about the admissions process and make an application during their deferred year off. However, neither of them were programmers so they had to learn how to design, program, and put the application on an application market — note this wasn’t just a medical school admissions activity stuffer for these guys, as they were already admitted and just wanted to tackle the challenge of launching an epic project. 

The application is still coming along, and they hope to expand the phone application to the Apple Market Place, but more rancor is required to motivate these busy medical students to take time off their studies to push more programming out. Also, right now it’s free, so just take advantage of it because they made it free for download because they wanted people to benefit from it without feeling anxious about pricing — how and if this will remain free is a big question in my mind, as a medical students time is worth its weight in gold (if time were in fact weighable). 

With all that said, here’s a link to download the application:

https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=com.eiron.premdapptracker&hl=en

 

 

 

5 thoughts on “PreMD Tracker Application — (Strong) Suggested Download

    doctorloony said:
    August 29, 2014 at 2:58 am

    This got me all excited until I realized the app was not compatible for my android device 😦 I wish their was a website of some sort like this….

      doctororbust responded:
      August 29, 2014 at 3:42 am

      I’m sorry to hear it. What phone do you have? I’ll bring it up to them next time we talk.

        doctorloony said:
        August 29, 2014 at 10:12 am

        I just realized that its not because of the compatibility. Apparently the app cannot be installed in my country which is the UK! I thought US and UK had a similar med application process – oh well 😦

        doctororbust responded:
        August 29, 2014 at 7:24 pm

        The medical school application process isn’t stopping you, it’s application store limitations. I found another Canadian reader who also couldn’t download the application from their market place, unfortunately this has nothing to do with the creators of the program.

        I can’t attest to these methods working as I’ve never tried them as the app market works for me, but here’s a link:

        http://www.howtogeek.com/138500/the-ultimate-guide-to-installing-incompatible-android-apps-from-google-play/

        doctorloony said:
        August 30, 2014 at 4:37 am

        There are loads of steps and downloading so I think I will pass for now. Thanks anyway for trying to help me! 🙂

Leave a Reply

