Best Wishes to Applicants

Posted on Updated on

wpid-wp-1440865465704.jpg

Hey,

Through the medical education onslaught it’s easy for me to lose appreciation for how it felt to apply to medical school. It’s funny how quickly you lose touch with time and reality. But, right now there’s a new batch of premedical applicants applying. And if you’re one of them this cycle, then my hat’s off to you! Regardless if you received an interview, I congratulate you on just clicking the submit button — there’s a world of a difference between intending to apply to medical school and being committed as an applicant. There’s a whole lot of reasons, but most people never get the opportunity to apply. So, if you are good luck and focus on being well!

I think interviewees start arriving, at our program, in a few weeks. This Monday there’s a free dinner an opportunity to learn how we can help in the admissions process. Last year, I participated in the admissions days, it was fun and I think I’ll do it again. It’ll be fun to see bright, hopeful, and lively faces around the medical campus again. The first time I saw interviewees as a medical student, awkwardly enough, was while I was holding someone’s severed leg — you build lots of hallmark moments in the first year. I was lucky to meet a few more during a less odd social setting. Last year, I even met someone who reads my blog, that was a pretty cool situation. [if you’re reading this thanks for reading, and hope you got in somewhere!]

My Medschool Updates

So, as a second year medical student, we just finished our first block of classes (Pharmacology, Pathology, Infectious Disease and a deluge of Drugs). We had the final exam this morning, it went well, so I’m happy. I used Sketchy Medical School, i.e. Sketchy Micro, for most of the microbe stuff. It was great. Also, I found a pretty decent study schedule/groove. My schedule isn’t so bad this year. I wake up at about 9-9:30 AM, I watch almost all lectures from home at 2x speed. You see, going to school by public transportation rips 1-1.5 hours out of my day. In the time it takes for me to transport myself, I could have already finished watching the day’s lectures. With my current agenda: I then leave my house to study, for about 5 hours a day I study alone or with a friend. I return home, get my fair share of cat videos watched, eat and preview for the next day of studying. I really enjoyed this schedule, because I had a lot of free time and time to get work done, hopefully it’ll work just as well for this coming Pulmonary Disease/Drugs block.

Besides the normal courses, our clinical training starts back up next week. Honestly, I have no idea what this entails in detail. I assume, it’s sort of like a role-playing-game, every time we level up in ability we’re given new challenges we couldn’t have handled before. Most of my time will be spent at a community clinic. Concurrently, I contacted a physician I worked with this summer in cardiology, my plan is to spend some time in both ambulatory and inpatient service cardiology — I really enjoyed the previous experience. Aside from that, not sure if I’ll be accepted, but I just applied to two community service programs with other friends/classmates. I’m really crossing my fingers, I knew about one particular outreach program before I even applied to this school, in fact it was the very reason I found out about this medical school in the first place. If things work out, I’ll update you.

Today, I just gave a mock medical school interview via Skype. It was fun. They sent me their AMCAS application, personal statement, and some secondary applications. My job is to read all of it, and make a mock interview out. Turns out, it’s epically faster to read someone’s applicant rather than to write it, it didn’t take very long to go through their application. I have a much better working memory than when I started school, so that helps. And, now that I know a few people who are on the admissions committee I have an even better understanding of what they’re trying to accomplish during the interview. Personally, I really like interviewing and I find it to be the easiest part, it’s a lot less hum-drum than cranking out application essays — in the past it was rare that I wouldn’t get a job if I scored an interview, and I was accepted at all programs where I interviewed. I consider myself an introvert, that’s a big reason why with my free time I’d rather be drinking coffee [alone] and writing, but I can turn on the interpersonal skills when needed. If you’d like some tips on how to tackle your shyness for the interview feel free to email me.

If you’d like to read more medical school interviews, at least my experience of it, then you can read more right below:

Tips on Interview Day

What my medical school interviews were like

Blog Updates

Screen Shot 2015-08-30 at 6.59.42 PM
Hit 100 countries, thanks for all the support!

Good luck and enjoy your day!

Thanks for reading

Leave a Reply

