Helpful [hopefully] Links/Articles for Premeds Applying to Medschool

Posted on Updated on

Hello,

So, I’m still re-arranging the blog around in attempts to make it easier to navigate. But as things pile up, my board exam is coming up, courses, and random things I took on, so it’s going to take a while to get things how I’d like them [here]. I am actually on vacation, and I thought I’d do some background editing here. But, instead the instinct to survive took over, and I’m doing some board review (biochemistry, yay!). However, as people are applying soon and you may be one of them, thus I thought it’d be helpful to just gather-up some articles I wrote:

Screen Shot 2016-03-17 at 8.38.55 PM.png

Overview

The General Schedule and Requirements for Applying to Medical School

Medical School Admissions Guide – if you take two things away from this whole page, 1) apply early to medical school and 2) buy the Medical School Admissions Guide access for your application year!

MCAT

How I Studied for the MCAT – feel free to use or ignore anything you’d like

Costs

How Much Did Applying to Medical School Cost Me?

More on Costs, and How I Went Into [more] Debt Just to Apply!

Personal Statement Drafting  and Planning Phase

Six Simple Rules to Accomplishing a Draft

Making a Personal Statement Review ‘Committee (part 1) and part 2

Personal Statement Editing Phase

Editing and Composition Planning 

Pitfalls to Avoid While Writing Your Personal Statement

Even More Tips on Things to Avoid (article written after a round of reviews)

 

Example Personal Statement

Mine. – Sorry, I do have a trove of personal statements on my hard drive, but I only have permission to really put my own personal statement up. If I edited your personal statement, and you’d like you’re to go up here too just let me know.

Medical School Application

Small Blurb on Deadlines and Status Changes

Tips on Getting Letters of Recommendations

Primary Application Samples (mine)

Work Activities Section of Application – especially important for nontraditional applicants!

Tips on Preparing for Secondary Applications

More Info Secondary Applications

Secondary – Diversity Essay (one of the ‘harder’ essays), Community Essay, Greatest Weakness Essay

Medical School Interviews

My Limited Interview Experience – went on 5 interviews [across the country], declined a couple mostly due to budget constraints.

OSCE/MMI Interviews

Interview Tips 

Elevator Speeches – optional read

Good luck and Best Wishes!

 

 

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Helpful [hopefully] Links/Articles for Premeds Applying to Medschool

    mandarq said:
    March 18, 2016 at 7:34 am

    I know that is Kevin Spacey speaking, but all I can think was that Frank Underwood would never say that.:P

    Anyway, great list of resources. Thanks!

      doctororbust responded:
      March 20, 2016 at 9:48 am

      He’s one of my favorite actors, I couldn’t resist posting the quote.

      Best of luck with your application cycle, whenever that may be!

Leave a Reply

